Connect With Us

Reach out to the Committee on Minorities Affairs:
Do you want to help us? Do you have some ideas for future programming? Will you be a symposium presenter at an upcoming meeting? Do you want to nominate someone for a diversity award? Would you like to be considered for appointment to serve on the Committee on Minority Affairs? Do you want to start a local section CMA? Are you looking for resources for CMA programming at the local section meeting or Regional Meeting level? Reach out to us, and become engaged.

2018-2020 Chair: Ann Kimble-Hill

Committee Members:
Committee Members:
Dr. Ann C. Kimble-Hill, Chair (2018−20) ankimble at iu.edu
Dr. Seth Y. Ablordeppey (2018−20) seth.ablordeppey at famu.edu
Dr. Dawood Afzal (2017−19), Truman State University, afzal at truman.edu
Dr. Kishore K. Bagga (2019−21), Drexel University College of Medicine, kishore.bagga at drexelmed.edu
Dr. Shanadeen C. Begay (2017−19), Northeastern University, shanadeen at gmail.com
Ms. Barbara Belmont (2017−19), California State Univ. Dominguez Hills, bbelmont at csudh.edu
Dr. Benny Chan (2019−21), The College of New Jersey, chan at tcnj.edu
Dr. Patrick Gordon (2017−19), patrick.gordon65 at gmail.com
Dr. Christopher E. Hobbs (2018−20), Sam Houston State University, ceh079 at shsu.edu
Dr. Robert M. Hoyte (2018−20), SUNY Coll at Old Westbury, hoyter at oldwestbury.edu
Dr. Kimberly Jackson (2017−19), Spelman College, kjackson at spelman.edu
Dr. Reni Joseph (2018−20), rjoseph15 at stlcc.edu
Mr. Wasiu Lawal (2019−21), wasiulawal79 at yahoo.co.uk
Dr. Steven Lopez (2019−21), Northeastern University, stevenlopez0209 at gmail.com
Dr. Mary Jo Ondrechen (2018−20), Northeastern University, mjo at neu.edu
Dr. Armando M. Rivera Figueroa (2019−21), East Los Angeles College, riveraam at elac.edu
Dr. Michael Santiago (2019−21), USDA -ARS-SRRC, michael.santiago at ars.usda.gov
Dr. Thomas W. Smith (2019−21), Rochester Institute of Tech, twssch at rit.edu
Dr. Alyssa C. Thomas (2017−19), Utica College, acthomas at utica.edu

Associates:
Mrs. Marie Little Fawn Agan (2019), magan at norwich.edu
Dr. Comfort Boateng (2019), High Point University, cboateng at highpoint.edu
Dr. Raychelle M. Burks (2019), St Edward’s University, rburks at stedwards.edu
Dr. Julius Green (2019), Empowerment Enterprise II, jgreen819903 at hotmail.com
Dr. Sarah Mullins (2019), 3M, smullins44 at gmail.com
Ms Donna Neal (2019), CRI Hydroprocessing Shell Technology Center Houston, donna.neal at shell.com
Dr Tamiko M Neal Porter (2019), IUPUI, tnp at iupui.edu
Dr R Lee Penn (2019), University of Minnesota, rleepenn at umn.edu
Dr. Juan Carlos Ramos (2109), Hewlett Packard, juankarlosramoshdz at gmail.com
Ms Lana Saleh (2019), New England Biolabs, saleh at neb.com
Dr. Javier Vela- Becerra (2019), Iowa State University, vela at iastate.edu
Dr. Donald C. Zapien (2019), Slippery Rock University, donald.zapien at sru.edu

CMA Subcommittees

Awards and Recognition Subcommittee
The Awards & Recognition Subcommittee administers the award programs of the CMA as well as nominates eminent minorities for ACS awards and editorial positions. This subcommittee is also responsible for recognizing the service of CMA committee members.
Subcommittee co-chairs: Kishore Bagga and Shanadeen Begay

Communications Subcommittee
This subcommittee manages external communication of the Committee to the chemistry enterprise at large, as well as internal communication within the Committee. The CMA Communications Subcommittee is responsible for this website and all social media. Subcommittee co-chair: Barbara Belmont

Membership Engagement and Professional Development Subcommittee
The focus of this subcommittee is to manage new member on‐boarding, research CMA constituencies to identify relevant future programs, and manage a professional development program for CMA members.
Subcommittee chair: Kimberley Jackson

Scholars Subcommittee
This subcommittee provides oversight of the ACS Scholars program. This includes encouraging ACS Scholars transition to ACS membership and engaging in an annual program review.
Subcommittee chair: Daniel Mindiola

Programming & Events Subcommittee
The purpose of this subcommittee is to organize symposia, luncheons, and other events at national and regional ACS meetings on relevant topics to the ACS stakeholders.
Subcommittee co-chairs: Reni Joseph and Jerry Sarquis


Learn more about Diversity and Inclusion within the American Chemical Society via the ACS Department of Diversity Programs.