Connect With Us

Reach out to the Committee on Minority Affairs:
Do you want to help us? Do you have some ideas for future programming? Will you be a symposium presenter at an upcoming meeting? Do you want to nominate someone for a diversity award? Would you like to be considered for appointment to serve on the Committee on Minority Affairs? Do you want to start a local section CMA? Are you looking for resources for CMA programming at the local section meeting or Regional Meeting level? Reach out to us, and become engaged.

Committee Members
Comfort Boateng, Chair (2022-2024)
Mitch Anstey (2023-2025)
Amina El-Ashmawy (2023-2025)
Benjamin Garcia (2024-2026)
Navneet Goyal (2023-2025)
Julius Green (2023-2025)
Michael Greenlief (2022-2024)
Steven Lopez (2022-2024)
Marcie Merritt (2024-2026)
Desmond Murray (2024-2026)
Jeramia Ory (2023-2025)
Hector Palencia (2024-2026)
Victoria Parker (2022-2024)
Brenda Porta-Linell (2023-2025)
Tamiko Porter (2022-2024)
Juan Carlos Ramos (2023-2025)
Thomas Smith (2022-2024)
Julio Teran (2024-2026)
Donald Zapien (2022-2024)

Malek Hassan (2024)
Sean Hickey (2024)
Brea Manuel (2024)

CMA Subcommittees

Awards and Recognition Subcommittee
The Awards & Recognition Subcommittee administers the award programs of the CMA as well as nominates eminent people underrepresented in STEM for ACS awards and editorial positions. This subcommittee is also responsible for recognizing the service of CMA committee members.
Subcommittee co-chairs: Comfort Boateng, Victoria Shayla Parker

Communications Subcommittee
This subcommittee manages external communication of the Committee to the chemistry enterprise at large, as well as internal communication within the Committee. The CMA Communications Subcommittee is responsible for this website and all social media. Subcommittee co-chairs: Barbara Belmont, Raychelle Burks

Membership Engagement and Professional Development Subcommittee
The focus of this subcommittee is to manage new member on‐boarding, research CMA constituencies to identify relevant future programs, and manage a professional development program for CMA members.
Subcommittee chair: C. Michael Greenlief, Michael Santiago

Scholars Subcommittee
This subcommittee provides oversight of the ACS Scholars program. This includes encouraging ACS Scholars transition to ACS membership and engaging in an annual program review.
Subcommittee co-chairs: Navneet Goyal, Thomas W. Smith

Programming & Events Subcommittee
The purpose of this subcommittee is to organize symposia, luncheons, and other events at national and regional ACS meetings on relevant topics to the ACS stakeholders.
Subcommittee co-chairs: Marie Little Fawn Agan, Seth Ablordeppey

Learn more about Diversity and Inclusion within the American Chemical Society via the ACS Department of Diversity Programs.