Connect With Us

Reach out to the Committee on Minority Affairs:
Do you want to help us? Do you have some ideas for future programming? Will you be a symposium presenter at an upcoming meeting? Do you want to nominate someone for a diversity award? Would you like to be considered for appointment to serve on the Committee on Minority Affairs? Do you want to start a local section CMA? Are you looking for resources for CMA programming at the local section meeting or Regional Meeting level? Reach out to us, and become engaged.

2021-2023 Chair: Kishore Bagga

Committee Members

Dr. Kishore K. Bagga, Chair (2019−21), Drexel University, kkb46 at drexel.edu
Dr. Seth Y. Ablordeppey (2018−23), Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University,
seth.ablordeppey at famu.edu
Mrs. Marie Little Fawn Agan (2021−23), Norwich University, magan at norwich.edu
Dr. Shanadeen C. Begay (2020−22), Northeastern University, shanadeen at gmail.com
Ms. Barbara Belmont (2020−22), California State Univ. Dominguez Hills, bbelmont at csudh.edu
Dr. Raychelle M. Burks (2021−23), American University, burks at american.edu
Dr. Benny Chan (2019−21), The Coll of New Jersey, chan at tcnj.edu
Dr. Patrick Gordon (2020−22), patrick.gordon65 at gmail.com
Dr. Julius Green (2020−22), jgreen819903 at hotmail.com
Dr. Robert M. Hoyte (2021−23), SUNY Coll at Old Westbury, hoyter at oldwestbury.edu
Dr. Reni Joseph (2021−23), St Louis Community College, rjoseph15 at stlcc.edu
Dr. Steven Lopez (2019−21), Northeastern University, stevenlopez0209 at gmail.com
Dr. Tamiko M Neal Porter (2021−21), IUPUI, tnp at iupui.edu
Dr. Juan Carlos Ramos (2020−22), HP, Inc., juankarlosramoshdz at gmail.com
Dr. Armando M. Rivera Figueroa (2019−21), Los Angeles City College, riveraa2 at lacitycollege.edu
Dr. Michael Santiago (2020−22), USDA -ARS-SRRC, michael.santiago at ars.usda.gov
Dr. Thomas W. Smith (2019−21), Rochester Institute of Tech, twssch at rit.edu
Dr. Alyssa C. Thomas (2020−22), Utica College, acthomas at utica.edu

Associates

Dr. Comfort Boateng (2021), High Point Univ., cboateng at highpoint.edu
Dr. Navneet Goyal (2021), Xavier Univ of Louisiana, ngoyal at xula.edu
Dr. C Michael Greenlief (2021), Univ of Missouri Columbia, greenliefm at missouri.edu
Dr. Victoria Shayla Parker (2021), Radiology, victoria.s.parker1216 at gmail.com
Dr. Rosalynn Quinones-Fernandez (2021), Marshall University, rosalynnpr at yahoo.com
Dr. Celia Williams (2021), Avantor Performance Materials Inc., lvacscma at gmail.com
Dr. Donald C. Zapien (2021), Slippery Rock University, donald.zapien at sru.edu

CMA Subcommittees

Awards and Recognition Subcommittee
The Awards & Recognition Subcommittee administers the award programs of the CMA as well as nominates eminent people underrepresented in STEM for ACS awards and editorial positions. This subcommittee is also responsible for recognizing the service of CMA committee members.
Subcommittee co-chairs: Comfort Boateng

Communications Subcommittee
This subcommittee manages external communication of the Committee to the chemistry enterprise at large, as well as internal communication within the Committee. The CMA Communications Subcommittee is responsible for this website and all social media. Subcommittee co-chair: Barbara Belmont

Membership Engagement and Professional Development Subcommittee
The focus of this subcommittee is to manage new member on‐boarding, research CMA constituencies to identify relevant future programs, and manage a professional development program for CMA members.
Subcommittee chair: Benny Chan

Scholars Subcommittee
This subcommittee provides oversight of the ACS Scholars program. This includes encouraging ACS Scholars transition to ACS membership and engaging in an annual program review.
Subcommittee chair:

Programming & Events Subcommittee
The purpose of this subcommittee is to organize symposia, luncheons, and other events at national and regional ACS meetings on relevant topics to the ACS stakeholders.
Subcommittee co-chairs: Reni Joseph


Learn more about Diversity and Inclusion within the American Chemical Society via the ACS Department of Diversity Programs.